August 30, 2015

Children’s Program Highlights:

Moti Aunty’s Glorifies Guru Maa

Guru Maa sits on this position (chairs the position) due to the four supporting pillars the chair rests on. These pillar are figurative, but actually are the qualities of Guru Maa. These are:

Tyaag (sacrifice)
Tapasya (austerity)
Kshamta (ability) and
Prabhu Kripa ( Mercy of God)

Just like energy from powerhouse needs a pole to be available and accessible to us, similarly the spiritual energy of God reaches us through the medium of a spiritual Guru and that is Guruma. The importance of bhakti is that

  • When bhakti enters food, it becomes Prasad
  • When bhakti enters hunger, it becomes fast
  • When bhakti enters water, it becomes Amrit (nectar)
  • When bhakti enters music, it becomes Kirtan
  • When bhakti enters building, it becomes temple
  • When bhakti enters action, it becomes seva (service)
  • When bhakti enters work, it becomes Karma
  • When bhakti enters travel, it becomes pilgrimage
  • When bhakti enters man, man becomes human
  • Guru Maa’s Discourse

    All actions done by people add up to make the karmas. Just like the holi river Ganga flows through many places, but only certain spots have special significance and are regarded as Teerth Sthaan (sacred junctures), similarly the entire Bhagvad Geeta is full of nectar, but certain chapters like the chapter 12 and 15 are considered to have special significance.
    In chapter 15, the Purushottam yoga , the first shloka is

    sri-bhagavan uvaca
    urdhva-mulam adhah-sakham
    asvattham prahur avyayam
    chandamsi yasya parnani
    yas tam veda sa veda-vit ( chp 15/Txt 1)

    Shri Krishna says : This world is like a tree, the foundation is up and the branches are down. Its is not like a normal tree. The roots (the spiritual knowledge) is on the top, the creation is on the top.There are seven stages to reach this top (or the spiritual zenith).

    Guruma then quotes the following shloka and explain every word of it
    nirmana-moha jita-sanga-dosa
    adhyatma-nitya vinivrtta-kamah
    dvandvair vimuktah sukha-duhkha-samjnair
    gacchanty amudhah padam avyayam tat (Chp 15/Txt 5)

    Step 1: Nirmaan : The spiritual aspirant should not have a hunger for public applause. S/he should not have any pride in the beauty, wealth or the intelligence that s/he possesses.
    She quotes the example of Hanuman. The name “Hanuman’ itself means someone whose ego has been dissolved. Hanuman never desired a position for himself. He only desired the service of the lotus feet of Lord Ram. Hanuman is referred to as ‘Bhakta Shiromani” (epitome of all devotees) and also “Gyan Gun Sagar” (An ocean of knowledge and abilities). We should learn to be humble like Hanuman.

    Another example she quotes is of Shri Krishna himself. Shri Krishna opts to be the charioteer of Arjun. Typically the seat of a charioteer is positioned lower than that of the rider/warrior so that the warrior can aim properly. Also, the back shoulder of the charioteer is touched by the warrior to indicate any directional moves etc. Arjun’s knees had armor around them as he was a warrior. Each time he touched the shoulder of Shree Krishna, the Lord would get wounded; and yet he opted to be the charioteer and not the warrior.
    Shri Krishna had vowed to not pick any weapon during the Mahabharata war. However Bhishma had vowed to make Krishna lift a weapon. To fulfill the wishes and vows of a devotee, Lord forsake and lets go of his own vows and wishes.
    Another example of Shri Krishna’s humility is cited through The anecdote of Draupadi. Draupadi is advised by Shri Krishna to seek blessings from Bhishma for the long life of her husbands. He advises this to Draupadi, because Duryodhan’s wife had also been planning to do the same. Krishna advises Draupadi to seek blessings in the early morning hours before Duryodhan’s wife could reach the tent of Bhishma. He advises Draupadi to cover her face with a veil. While walking, Draupadi’s sandals make noise, so to avoid waking up everyone and or to allow identification due to sandals, Krishna takes Draupadi’s sandals and holds it under his arms. Krishna demonstrates his humility (nirmaan)

    Another example Guru ma cites is of Pundali. He asks Shri Krishna to wait till he (Pundalik) is able to finish his service towards his parents. God without caring for pride stands on a brick
    (called veeth in marathi) and is hence called as Vitthal.

    Step 2 : Destruction of Moha. ‘Moha’ is the ignorance. There are two kinds of ignorance; one is the kind that Dhritarashtra rising out of selfish motives . The second one is like that of Arjun’s which arises out of compassion.

    Step 3: “Jit Sangh Dosha” : overcoming the faults arising due to wrong company. Therefore; Satsang is glorified as it allows spiritually inclined people to come together and inspire each other. Due to Satsang, good Samskaras (impressions) are born and ignorance is destroyed.

    Step 4: “Adhyatama Nitya” or studying the scriptures daily
    Step 5 : “Vinivrit Kama” (devoid of all desires)
    Step 6 “ “Davandvair Vimukta” “ One who has transcended all polarities.One who has risen above the three modes of Sttava, Rajas and Tamas.
    Step 7 : “Gacchantya AMoodha” : One who has risen above the state of becoming bewildered (whose mind is always calm and tranquill)

    [spaudio playlisttype=”file” playerid=”satsangplayer” playlist='””‘ ]

    Comments are closed.