June 27, 2015

Children’s Program Highlights:

Chapter 12 : Bhakti Yoga

Bhagwaan Krishna shows Viraat Roopa (Universal form) to Arjun (in chapter 11). After seeing the Shankha-Chakra-Gada-Padma Roop Arjun has a question as to which form of God is superior and what is the form he should pray? Arjun therefore asks God, if the correct way of worshipping was to focus on the formless God (niraakaaar roop) or was it better to focus on worshipping the physical form (sakaar roop).

Bhagwaan then mentions the criteria of worshipping in each of the two aforementioned techniques.
He says (Chapter 12, text 2)

sri-bhagavan uvaca
mayy avesya mano ye mam nitya-yukta upasate
sraddhaya parayopetas te me yuktatama matah

If you choose to worship the physical form then you need to have full faith in me. You should be worshipping daily and should be fully focused on me while worshipping.

God also lays three rules for the formless worship

sanniyamyendriya-gramam sarvatra sama-buddhayah
te prapnuvanti mam eva sarva-bhuta-hite ratah

If you choose the formless worship, then you should have full control over your senses, should be maintaining equanimity between all living beings and should be always engaged in the service of all living entities. However since the criteria for worshipping the formless God is very difficult for the human beings who are endowed with senses and visualizing something which cannot be perceived through senses is difficult, the worship of the sakaar roop (form with physical attributes) is preferred as else the downfall can be quick.

The four stages of evolution of the soul are as follows:
Jeevatama (soul)
Dharmatama (religious soul)
Mahatama (Great soul)
Paramatma (God)

The significance of chapter 12 in Gita has been compared to that of the heart within the human body. Just like heart is the center of emotions and functioning in human body, similarly the chapter twelve has bhakti in it and God can be achieved only with bhakti. Within the bhakti yoga chapter , the twelfth shloka is considered to be the heart of bhakti

sreyo hi jnanam abhyasaj jnanad dhyanam visisyate
dhyanat karma-phala-tyagas tyagac chantir anantaram
(Ch 12/ Txt 12)

The first step to progress on bhakti marga (path to devotion) is by doing abhyaas (practice). The next step is Gyan (knowledge) and the step after that is dhyaan (concentration). Finally the step is doing tyaag(sacrifice). Human beings can achieve peace only after sacrifice. Peace cannot be achieved without sacrificing.

Bhagwaan lists 39 qualities of devotees. One who has mastered these qualities can be certain to achieve God.

advesta sarva-bhutanam maitrah karuna eva ca
nirmamo nirahankarah sama-duhkha-sukhah ksami
(Ch 12/ Txt 13)

1. Not envious towards all living entities
2. Kind
3. compassionate
4. Does not think himself a proprietor (not possessive)
5. Free from false ego
6. Always satisfied in both happiness and distress
7. Forgiving

santustah satatam yogi yatatma drdha-niscayah
mayy arpita-mano-buddhir yo mad-bhaktah sa me priyah
(Ch 12/ Txt 14)

8. Content
9. Self Controlled
10. Endeavoring
11. Determined
12. Devoted his/her mind and intelligence to me (Krishna)

yasman nodvijate loko lokan nodvijate ca yah
harsamarsa-bhayodvegair mukto yah sa ca me priyah
(Ch 12/ Txt 15)

13. Never agitates others
14. Never gets agitated by others
15. Free from anxiety and fear
16. Free from happiness and distress

anapeksah sucir daksa udasino gata-vyathah
sarvarambha-parityagi yo mad-bhaktah sa me priyah
(Ch 12/ Txt 16)

17. Without expectations
18. Pure
19. Expert
20. Impartial
21. Undisturbed
22. Renouncer of all material endeavors

yo na hrsyati na dvesti na socati na kanksati
subhasubha-parityagi bhaktiman yah sa me priyah
(Ch 12/ Txt 17)

23. Neither takes pleasure nor envies
24. Neither grieves nor desires
25. Renouncer of auspicious and inauspicious
26. Full of devotion

samah satrau ca mitre ca tatha manapamanayoh
sitosna-sukha-duhkhesu samah sanga-vivarjitah
(Ch 12/ Txt 18)

27. Equal to friends and enemies
28. Maintains equanimity during honor and dishonor
29. Maintains equanimity during heat and cold
30. Maintains equanimity during pleasure and pain
31. Free (detached) from all kind of associations

tulya-ninda-stutir mauni santusto yena kenacit
aniketah sthira-matir bhaktiman me priyo narah
(Ch 12/ Txt 19)

32. Maintains equanimity for praise as well as criticism
33. Maintains silence (does not talk too much)
34. Satisfied with whatever he/she has
35. Not focused on maintaining residence (yogi/sanyasi)
36. Stable minded
37. Engaged in devotion

ye tu dharmamrtam idam yathoktam paryupasate
sraddadhana mat-parama bhaktas te ‘tiva me priyah
(Ch 12/ Txt 20)

38. Righteous
39. With faith accepts me as the lord

[spaudio playlisttype=”file” playerid=”satsangplayer” playlist='”http://www.geetasatsang.org/wp-content/playlists/satsang20150627.json”‘ ]

Comments are closed.